Concerts / Concert with reading

Sunday, 18.03.2018 / 11:00

Viennese Instrumental Soloists & Peter Matić

"L'histoire du soldat for violin, clarinet and piano by Igor Strawinsky"


Peter Matić – recitation
Wiener Instrumentalsolisten
Johannes Pflegerl
Siegfried Schenner
Karl Eichinger - 
Rudolf Gindlhumer 


Sonata for flute and piano by Erwin Schulhoff
Sonata for piano op. 1 von Alban Berg
Liebesleid by Fritz Kreisler
Liebesfreud by  Fritz Kreisler
Image for flute solo op. 38 by Eugène Bozza
L'histoire du soldat for violin, clarinet and piano by Igor Strawinsky

(texts in German version by Rolf-Peter Wille)

Within this matinée the State theatre actor Peter Matić presents selected musical gems of the Fin de siècle together with the musical ensemble of the Viennese Instrumental Soloists, who are celebrated for their excellent virtuosity. The story of a soldier by Igor Strawinsky is the heart of this programme. This piece was written in 1917 for a travelling theatre and is based on two Russian fairytales. The composer later revised it into a trio-version. The text about the violin playing soldier only emerged in 2001, in Russian. In 2002 the pianist and writer Rolf-Peter Wille translated it into German.


The next events